Our Organization

The Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers is governed by an elected Board of Governors representative of our membership.

Our organization

CAPP is directed by a Board of Governors that sets priorities for the Executive Team, staff and committees. The board includes a full-time president, a volunteer chairperson, and up to 78 volunteer governors. A new chairperson is nominated each year and each of the governors represents member companies at the chief executive officer level.

Almost 250 member volunteers lend their expertise to the six Policy Groups (PGs). Each focuses on a specific aspect of the industry such as Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan or offshore operations, oil sands and tolls and tariffs

About 90 staff members – including economists, engineers, communicators, accountants, political scientists, lawyers and administrative staff – work with our membership on the many issues before the organization.

Vision statement

CAPP's vision is to enhance Canada's prosperity by enabling responsible growth of Canada's upstream oil and natural gas industry.

Mission statement

CAPP's mission, on behalf of the Canadian upstream oil and natural gas industry, is to advocate for and enable economic competitiveness and safe, environmentally and socially responsible performance.


The Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers (CAPP) represents companies, large and small, that explore for, develop and produce natural gas and oil throughout Canada. CAPP’s member companies produce about 80 per cent of Canada’s natural gas and oil. CAPP's associate members provide a wide range of services that support the upstream oil and natural gas industry. Together CAPP's members and associate members are an important part of a national industry with revenues from oil and natural gas production of about $101 billion a year.